Highlight

New York Teen Accepted To All 8 Ivy League Colleges

Ivy-League-Schools-scholarshipsAugusta Uwamanzu-Nna, the 17-year-old valedictorian from Elmont Memorial High School in Long Island, recently learned she was accepted to all 12 colleges that she applied to…including all eight Ivy League schools. The Ivy League eight are Harvard, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Brown, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton and Yale. The lucky 17-year-old Uwamanzu-Nna was also accepted to MIT, Johns Hopkins, New York University and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. “My family is so excited,” Uwamanzu-Nna told KSLA-TV of her extraordinary achievement. “Sometimes I feel like they get so much more excited than me. They literally scream. When I called my mom and told her she was screaming on the phone.” The young teen has a few weeks before she has to decide which school she’d like to attend.

“I am humbled by all of the college acceptance letters that I recently received,” she said in a news release. “I am reminded that I have a responsibility to be a role model for others and use my experiences to encourage and inspire others, especially young women.” As the daughter of Nigerian Immigrants, she’s credited her family and teachers for her success. She also said hard work, played a major role.

Augusta Uwamanzu-Nna is most certainly a highlight in today’s society and proof that hard work can always go a long way. I don’t know about you, but she certainly inspires me as well. I’m sure many people are excited to see where this incredibly bright young girl goes in the future, the sky is the limit for her.

Leave a Reply

